Grade Five 2010

Reflecting back on this past summer, I realized how much of a math “geek” my friends actually think I am.  Sitting at our campsite, with colleagues and friends, I was presented with a birthday t-shirt with the slogan “Count with the Count” featuring no other than the famous Count character off of Sesame Street.  My girlfriend and I joked that this t-shirt was very fitting for me, as I totally see math as a “Count-agious” subject.  In fact, my girlfriend suggested I title my blog “Count-agious”.   We joked about names like “To Count, or Not to Count, That is the Question”…and other such ideas.  I settled on my sister’s suggestion of Musings of a Math Teacher.

This year I am teaching grade five.  I am in the classroom Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday.  Mondays and Fridays I work at other commitments.  I am presently AISI Lead Teacher for my school and am also traveling with ERLC (Edmonton Regional Learning Consortium) helping to support implementation of Alberta’s “new” K-9 Math Curriculum.  My schedule is sometimes challenging, as I also have a family.  My husband and 3 1/2 children are very supportive of my job roles, and I wouldn’t be able to do what I do without this support.

This year I am extremely excited to bring into my classroom the new and improved grade five math curriculum.  Often when you walk through my door, it is hard to see the student desks because of the number of manipulatives the students are choosing to use to aide them in their studies.  My classroom manipulatives include items such as base ten blocks, pattern blocks, dice, flip charts, balance scales, geoboards, centicubes, unifix blocks, calculators, rulers, bingo chips, colored tiles, geometry shapes,  fraction shapes, overhead projector with numerous materials, playing cards, senteos, and a smartboard.  My class this year is also taking part in a netbook project where we are able to share a set of netbooks between 3 classes.  I feel very fortunate that my room is well equipped for the journey into the realm of this new curriculum.

I have managed to set up a solid library of resource books that have helped me to better understand the theory of critical thinking and inquiry based learning. 

I have visitied many websites that have helped me to plan inquiry based research projects and to create Higher Order Thinking Skills (HOTS) activities.

My hope is, that by working together, we can share ideas to help us teach smarter…not harder.

I look forward to hearing from colleagues all over the world!  Let the learning begin!

About musingsofamathteacher

I am presently employed at New Sarepta Elementary School as a grade five teacher. During my career I have taught Grades 12 - 2. The past three years I was fortunate to work part-time as Math Lead for my school district, Black Gold Regional Schools, and have just recently accepted a part-time secondment with Edmonton Regional Learning Consortium. I have always had a passion for mathematics and am excited about implementing Alberta's "new" mathematics curriculum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

