Fun(ny) Christmas Math Songs

I didn’t compose any of these… nor do I know the original source.
If anyone can identify the source, please let me know.

~Happy Holiday Season to all.

MATH CHRISTMAS SONGS…

RUDOLPH THE STATISTICIAN
(Tune: “Rudolph the red-nosed reindeer”)

Rudolph, the statistician
Sampled data everywhere.
Mean heights and heart conditions
Calculated with great care.

All of his population
Gathered from coast to coast
Sought out his information;
He would always give the most.

Then one foggy Christmas eve
Santa came to say,
“Rudolph, with your pencil write,
What gifts I should take tonight.”

Quickly he polled the children,
Then Rudolph shouted out with glee:
“Stats did provide the answer:
Give Nintendo and Barbie!”

JINGLE ALGEBRA
(Tune “Jingle Bells”)

Dashing through my text,
It’s really not complex.
But if my mind runs slow
It gives me lots of woe,
Oh, Oh, Oh!

I study Algebra
My brain runs; I say “Go!”
So much I do not know
And so very far to go. Yo!

Properties, Quantities
Factor into play;
Points to plot,
I think a lot
Success should come my way!

Rantional ‘n Radical
Equations have a say.
Slopes and line,
I’ll make the time;
Math Power’s here to stay! Yea!

ON THE FIRST DAY OF MATH CLASS
(Tune: On the First Day of Christmas.”)

On the first day of math class
My teacher said to me,
“The assignment is on page three.”

On the second day of math class
My teacher said to me,
“Get extra help! The assignment is on page three.”

On the third day of math class
My teacher said to me,
“Are there any questions? Get extra help! The assignment is on page three.”

On the fourth day of math class
My teacher said to me,
“We’ll have a test on Friday. Are there any questions? Get extra help! The assignment is
on page three.”

On the fifth day of math class
My teacher said to me,
“Please study hard. We’ll have a test on Friday. Are there any questions? Get extra
help! The assignment is on page three.”

On the sixth day of math class
My teacher said to me,
“May you gain MATH POWER. Please study hard. We’ll have a test on Friday. Are there any
questions? Get extra help! The assignment is on page three.”

OH NUMBER PI
(TUNE: “Oh Christmas Tree”)

Oh, number Pi
Oh, number Pi
Your digits are nonending,
Oh, number Pi
Oh, number Pi
No pattern are you sending.
You’re three point one four one five nine,
And even more if we had time,
Oh, number Pi
Oh, number Pi
For circle lengths unbending.

Oh, number Pi
Oh, number Pi
You are a number very sweet,
Oh, number Pi
Oh, number Pi
Your uses are so very neat.
There’s 2 Pi r and Pi r squared,
A half a circle and you’re there,
Oh, number Pi
Oh, number Pi
We know that Pi’s a tasty treat.

You Can’t Divide by Zero  (version one)

(tune: Rudolf the red nosed reindeer)

Zero, that funny cipher has a shape that looks like ‘O’

And if you want to use it, there are things you need to know.

Never divide by zero; if you do, you will be sad,

Getting a crazy answer, making your report look bad.

But treat zero as your friend-use him carefully-

‘Safe to multiply or add’-That’s the rule for zero, lad!

Zero, that screwball number wants to be a comrade true,

But never divide by zero, or you’ll be getting zero, too!

You Can’t Divide by Zero (version two) 

(tune: Rudolf the red nosed reindeer)

Zero’s a lovely number.

It will multiply and add just fine,

but you can’t divide by zero

’cause the answer’s undefined.

All of the other numbers

used to laugh and shout with glee

if you divide by zero

all your calculator says is E

==============================
Our hearts grow tender with childhood memories and love of kindred, and we are better throughout the year for having, in spirit, become a child again at Christmas-time. ~Laura Ingalls Wilder

What is Christmas? It is tenderness for the past, courage for the present, hope for the future. It is a fervent wish that every cup may overflow with blessings rich and eternal, and that every path may lead to peace. ~Agnes M. Pharo

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful. ~ Norman Vincent Peale

The joy of brightening other lives, bearing each others’ burdens, easing other’s loads and supplanting empty hearts and lives with generous gifts becomes for us the magic of Christmas. ~W. C. Jones

The only blind person at Christmastime is he who has not Christmas in his heart.~
Helen Keller

Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love! ~Hamilton Wright Mabie

A merry Christmas to everybody! A happy New Year to all the world! ~ Charles Dickens

About musingsofamathteacher

I am presently employed at New Sarepta Elementary School as a grade five teacher. During my career I have taught Grades 12 - 2. The past three years I was fortunate to work part-time as Math Lead for my school district, Black Gold Regional Schools, and have just recently accepted a part-time secondment with Edmonton Regional Learning Consortium. I have always had a passion for mathematics and am excited about implementing Alberta's "new" mathematics curriculum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fun(ny) Christmas Math Songs

  1. Hello there, simply turned into alert to your blog via Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate if you happen to proceed this in future. Numerous other people will be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  2. Himanshu says:

    really good one!

  3. joyce gabriel says:

    verry good! it helps me in my homework about chrismath-jingle

  4. Pingback: Fun with Math over the Holidays - MathTutorPhD Blog

Leave a Reply

