Different Division Methods in the Month of May

I sense June just around the corner…June is always such a busy month in my classroom madly trying to finish up any curriculum outcomes that students haven’t mastered.

The last part of the month of May we have mainly been focusing on division strategies.  Similar to multiplication, students have been using individual strategies to help them understand the concept of division.

Some of these strategies include:

Mental Division Methods, Tips, and Shortcuts:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/factsheet/ma11divi-l1-f-some-mental-division-methods

http://www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/factsheet/ma11divi-l1-f-mental-division-tips

http://www.bbc.co.uk/skillswise/factsheet/ma11divi-l1-f-division-shortcuts

Standard Algorithm:

division 1       division 3

division 2   grouping in division

standard division

Chunking:

chunking

Fact Families:

fact families divsion

Lattice Division:

lattice division 2

Video on Lattice Division:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a4Ms0ddJFvM

My Dog Division

I knew it was really,
A silly decision,
To get a new dog,
And name him Division…

Division ain’t average,
Like other ole’ mutts,
He doesn’t eat food,
No ands, ifs, or buts…
He’s sick! yelled my Mom,
He’s ill, said my Dad,
He’s perfectly fine,
He’s really quite glad…
He doesn’t eat food,
He never does that,
He lives on his quotients,
They keep him quite fat…
The first day I gave him,
4 pieces of treat,

I came home that day,
He’d had nothing to eat!!
He’d divided his treats,
Into 2 equal parts..
2 treats in each pile,
 
My dog had math smarts!!
The next day, I put out,
More and more biscuit,
9 treats in his bowl,


A lot, but I’d risk it…
But when I returned,
He’d eaten not one,
3 piles of 3,
  
My dog was not dumb!!!
I shouted and shouted,
Division…go eat!!!
I screamed,
And yelled,
I would not take defeat!
I poured 36,
Small pieces of steak,
Into his dog bowl,
And left him a cake…

But when I returned,
Had he eaten the beef?
Nope!!!

6 piles of 6…
My dog was no dope!!!
The cake was all gone,
And that’s the sweet-truth,
I think, Division,
Has a sweet-tooth…
Division, I said,
What are we gonna do?
If you keep finding quotients,
There won’t be a you!!!
We must travel down,
Some other pet-path,
Now Division is learning,
Some new types of math!!!

Division Limerick

Division, division, division,
A terribly easy decision,
Lets me just share,
My apple or pear,
With utter and perfect precision….

Here’s some good words of advice,
I think I might say them all twice,
Learn each times table,
And you’ll also be able,
To go and divide really nice…

Young laddie, it won’t make things worse,
Division brings no type of curse,
Repeated subtraction?
Break to a fraction?
Or multiply things in reverse?

Quotients are things that we find,
When division’s how math problem’s signed,
It has the math smarts,
To cut pies in parts,
The inverse of things we combined…

Poem and Limerick borrowed from  Mr. R’s World of Math and Science  http://mathstory.com/poems

Hope everyone has a great May Long Weekend!

About musingsofamathteacher

I am presently employed at New Sarepta Elementary School as a grade five teacher. During my career I have taught Grades 12 - 2. The past three years I was fortunate to work part-time as Math Lead for my school district, Black Gold Regional Schools, and have just recently accepted a part-time secondment with Edmonton Regional Learning Consortium. I have always had a passion for mathematics and am excited about implementing Alberta's "new" mathematics curriculum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

